Public Golf Course

Phil Mickelson penalized for using different type of golf ball on 7th hole

Wow the rules of golf are different in South Korea, Phill makes a grave mistake but man did it ever fire him up after the debacle…read it here:

NCHEON, South Korea — The International team wound up winning two holes in one at the Presidents Cup on Friday when Phil Mickelson didn’t know the rules.

Mickelson was not aware of the one-ball condition for his four-ball match, switching to a different model to give him a better chance of reaching the par-5 seventh green. The rules committee made a mistake of its own to compound the error in a bizarre sequence of events

The result? Jason Day and Adam Scott went from all square to 2 up in just one hole.

Mickelson’s mistake wound up costing the Americans a half-point when the match ended in a draw.

“It’s a strange situation,” said Mark Russell, the vice president of rules and competition for the PGA Tour.

With three wins and a half-point during Friday’s four-ball matches, the International team cut the American lead to 5½-4½ going into a double session of eight matches on Saturday.

The one-ball condition means that players cannot switch golf ball models during the round. The penalty is known as a one-hole adjustment. So when Mickelson realized he was playing with a different ball, the International team was to be awarded one hole.

“The PGA of America doesn’t have a one-ball rule,” Mickelson told reporters at the Presidents Cup, referring to the organization that runs the PGA Championship and Ryder Cup when it is played in the United States. “You can play 18 different balls, brands, whatever, on 18 different holes during the PGA Championship and the Ryder Cup. So this threw me for a loop that we have a one-ball that we’ve never really had and I didn’t think much about it.

“But it’s my responsibility to know that. I should have at least asked about it before I teed off. It just had never been a thought for me as a player, but that’s your job to know that.”

Mickelson’s mistake was then compounded.

Then, match referee Gary Young consulted with the rules committee, and Russell said he told him that Mickelson was disqualified from the hole. Russell said he checked with other officials on the committee and they concurred. Only later did they realize Mickelson should have been allowed to complete the hole.

Day won it with a birdie to go 1 up over Mickelson and Zach Johnson, and it became 2 up because of the one-hole adjustment.

Mickelson didn’t think anything of the rule when he put a different ball in play, mainly because there is no one-ball rule at the PGA Championship or the Ryder Cup when it is held in America. Only when he was walking down the seventh fairway and saw U.S. captain Jay Haas did he think to ask.

“I was talking with Jay and I just thought, ‘Gosh, I’m going to ask. I’m sure it’s not an issue,’ ” Mickelson said. “And it turns out that there was a one-ball rule and it was an issue. As a player, you need to know that. You need to know the rules, and if you have a question, you do it beforehand.”

“The weird thing was I’ve never heard of a match adjustment penalty,” he said. “I just thought, ‘OK, if I hit the wrong ball, no big deal. Zach will cover me on this hole.’ But obviously, that’s not what happened.”

Russell said once a shot had been played, the committee could not go back and have Mickelson finish the hole because “allowing a correction could potentially undermine the strategy” already in play by both teams.

“It’s just unfortunate that he was told he had to pick up the ball,” Haas said. “Had he been able to play out and make a 4 and tie the hole, then it would only have been 1 down instead of 2 down. But that didn’t happen, so nothing you can do about it.”

The mistake by Mickelson was not knowing the rules. The mistake by the rules committee was not letting him finish the hole.

“Phil made a mistake. It’s unfortunate that they didn’t immediately say that he could have played out the hole,” Haas said. “But that happens. Phil made a huge mental error, and then they compounded it a little bit. But if he hadn’t been speeding, he wouldn’t have gotten a ticket. So I don’t have a problem with it.”

The International team also picked up wins from Louis Oosthuizen and Branden Grace and from Thongchai Jaidee and Charl Schwartzel.

Source: ESPN.com

NY Golf Tanner Valley

McIlroy says apology saved him $20,000 in fines

Wow, this was funny when I saw it!  But not $200k funny!  Does this happen at Tanner?

Can you put a price on an apology? Yes, apparently.

Rory McIlroy told the Press Association that the PGA Tour reduced his fine by $20,000 for throwing a club into a lake earlier this year at Doral, thanks to a timely mea culpa.

“The fine was reduced from $25,000 to $5,000 because I said I was sorry on the TV interview afterwards,” McIlroy was quoted as saying.

The incident took place during the second round of the WGC-Cadillac Championship. After hitting his second shot into a lake at the par-5 eighth hole on the Blue Monster, McIlroy flung his 3-iron into the same offending hazard.

Check out the video below:

McIlroy’s iron was returned the next day, as course owner Donald Trump had a diver retrieve it.

In another interview with the Telegraph’s James Corrigan, McIlroy revealed that he considered leaving the European Tour earlier this year.

Using an analytics app from Santander, one of his sponsors, McIlroy said studying his travel statistics was eye-opening.

“The travel – wow! I’m in an airplane for more than a fortnight a year; have been in 118 different airports in 12 months. I’ve spent 287 nights in a hotel. What does that leave? Less than 80 nights in my own bed, whether it’s the one in Northern Ireland or Florida. I guess at the minute, I don’t really have a home,” he said.

McIlroy needs to keep his European Tour membership in order to be eligible for next year’s Ryder Cup. Doing so requires that he compete in 13 European Tour-sanctioned events. Though, players like Paul Casey have lobbied for a reduction to 11.

McIlroy said that he is likely in a position to change membership rules, but “I don’t want to put the European Tour in that sort of position, because I owe a great deal to them. They gave me playing opportunities at the start of my career and I wouldn’t be where I am without them.”

Source: Golf Channel

Re-poste on:  Tanner Valley Golf Course

Tanner Valley

Phil Mickelson Called Suzann Pettersen After Solheim Cup

If you missed what happened to Suzann Pettersen at the Solheim Cup matches, read on…..It could and probably has happened to many of us in a golf match!Tanner Valley

Among those who reached out to Suzann Pettersen after the Solheim Cup controversy was someone who knows international drama all too well, U.S. fan favorite Phil Mickelson.

And, according to Pettersen, it was a lengthy conversation.

In an interview on Golf Channel’s “Golf Central” Wednesday night, Pettersen reflected on the incident that ruled the aftermath of the Solheim Cup, when U.S. player Alison Lee thought a putt on the 17th green was conceded only to have Pettersen argue it wasn’t. Pettersen and Charley Hull won the fourball match 2 up, but the U.S. won the cup 14 1/2 to 13 1/2.

During the interview, Pettersen said Mickelson called her Sunday night — not long after the matches concluded — and they talked for “hours.” They both work with Butch Harmon.

“One of the first players to reach out to me was Phil on Sunday night,” Pettersen said. “I don’t know how I can thank him enough for the words and the hours on the phone, the conversations we had for the good and bad. This went both ways. He wasn’t just trying to pat me on the shoulder, ‘like this will be fine.’ He asked me some critical questions, and I had to answer them. We all kind of ended on a good note.”

Flightscope

UPS just delivered some goodies! Flightscope X2 Elite Launch Monitor and Tomi-Pro putting monitor! Cant wait to get these in use! Stop down and give me a reason to!

http://tannervalleygolfcourse.com/flight-scope/

image

Golf

British British Open Odds 2015

British British Open Odds 2015

This is an exciting week in golf!  British open time!  Below is a nice article on what the odds are for some of your favorites.  Check it out….Let me know what you think!  Oh and this week come out and enjoy the golf in the BAR at tanner Valley!

Article:

Thursday, July 16, will see some of the best golfers in the world descend upon the Old Course at St Andrews in Fife, Scotland for the 2015 British Open, the third major championship of the calendar year and the oldest of the four Grand Slam events.

All eyes will be on American golfer Jordan Spieth, the 21-year-old wunderkind who’s working on a Grand Slam after winning the 2015 Masters and U.S. Open, dominating the former and showing impressive nerve in the latter.

Unfortunately, world No. 1 Rory McIlroy won’t be defending the Claret Jug this year after suffering an ankle injury. Any tournament without McIlroy is missing a player who provides serious star power, but there should still be plenty of other competitors willing and able to step up and fill the void left by his absence.

Here’s a look at the latest Vegas projections for some of the bigger names in this year’s Open Championship field.

Golfer Odds
Jordan Spieth 9-2
Dustin Johnson 12-1
Justin Rose 16-1
Rickie Fowler 16-1
Adam Scott 18-1
Henrik Stenson 20-1
Louis Oosthuizen 20-1
Tiger Woods 20-1
Jason Day 25-1
Martin Kaymer 25-1
Phil Mickelson 25-1
Sergio Garcia 25-1
Bubba Watson 28-1
Paul Casey 28-1
Hideki Matsuyama 33-1
Branden Grace 35-1
Patrick Reed 40-1
Shane Lowry 40-1

OddsShark.com

Note: Odds courtesy of Odds Shark and updated as of Monday, July 13 at 6 a.m. ET.

It should be a surprise to absolutely no one that Spieth carries the best odds of winning this tournament. He’s currently on a months-long run of fantastic play. Since winning the World Challenge on December 4, Spieth has won four tournaments (including the two majors in that time) and finished in the top 10 in 11 events.

The Texas native’s latest conquest was the John Deere Classic, in which he overcame a relatively poor start to play some of his best golf to date and beat Tom Gillis, a man 25 years his senior, in a playoff on Sunday. His career-best 61 in the third round provided more evidence he’s practically capable of lapping the field when at the top of his game.

“To be able to shoot 20-under in three rounds is nice momentum,” Spieth said, via ESPN’s news services. “The finish, when I really didn’t feel like tee to green I had much [on Sunday], gives me a lot of momentum to draw on if I don’t have my best stuff. ”

Spieth stuck with the John Deere Classic, the site of his first PGA Tour win in 2013, rather than play in Scotland.

When Spieth won the 2015 U.S. Open outright, it was in no small part down to a devastating final hole for Dustin Johnson.

After a brilliant approach shot on the 18th at Chambers Bay golf course, Johnson had a chance to win the tourney with a manageable eagle putt or at least force a playoff with a birdie. Instead, he missed both putts, the second from three feet out, meaning Spieth took home top prize.

Its the kind of defeat you wouldn’t blame a professional golfer of any caliber for agonizing over for months on end. Johnson, however, insists he’s OK, via the Daily Star‘s Tony Stenson: “I am in a good place right now.”

Johnson in a good place is fine golfer indeed. He’s currently fourth in the FedEx Cup standings this year, even though he hasn’t played since the U.S. Open.

He’s yet to win a major, but the 31-year-old has fared quite well at the British Open before, finishing tied for second place in 2011. Despite recent failures, at least one analyst thinks he might even be the favorite to win it.

“Dustin Johnson, I think, and probably Henrik Stenson, I would say, are neck-and-neck to be the favorites,” said NBC analyst Brandel Chamblee, via the State‘s Bob Gillespie (h/t PGA.com). “If you’re looking for a way to get over a disappointing or devastating loss, nothing like a victory would do that.”

Johnson and Spieth will face elite competition in the form of players such as Stenson and Rickie Fowler, who won the Scottish Open with a final round of 68 on Sunday.

Fowler and Spieth both winning in the buildup to the Open Championship is essentially a dream scenario for golf fans. It pits two bright, young Americans against each other and almost makes up for the absence of McIlroy. St Andrews could end up being the foundational site of a nice rivalry between these two, one that could carry golf for years to come.

Source:
Courtesy of B/r Bleacher Report.

Syracuse Golf Courses

Golf Lessons Syracuse

Flight Scope

Flight Scope Training Technology at Tanner Valley

Improve your game with technology at tanner Valley.  We have a Flight Scope that can measure many facts about your golf swing.  Trust me when we say that we are very careful to not to overwhelm a student with too much information but with Flight Scope we can truly see in minutes what is happening with your Club face, Path, swing speed and much much more!

 

Come and see what is happening in your swing!  Contact RJ Now!

Flight Scope Features

[one_half]Ball Launch & Flight
Ball Speed
Vertical Launch Angle
Horizontal Launch Angle
Vertical Descent Angle
Smash Factor
Spin Rate
Spin Axis
Carry Distance
Roll Distance
Total Distance
Lateral Landing
Apex Height
Flight Time
Shot Dispersion
Shot Distance to Pin
Skills Score[/one_half] [one_half_last]Club & Swing
Club Speed
Club Speed Profile
Club Acceleration Profile
Face to Path
Face to Target
Dynamic Loft
Angle of Attack
Club Path
Spin Loft
Swing Plane Horizontal
Swing Plane Vertical[/one_half_last]